#### LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

## **DECISIONS OF THE COUNCIL (ANNUAL MEETING)**

HELD AT 7.30 P.M. ON WEDNESDAY, 26 MAY 2010

# THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, 1ST FLOOR, TOWN HALL, MULBERRY PLACE, 5 CLOVE CRESCENT, LONDON, E14 2BG

### 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

## **DECISION**

That Councillor Motin Uz-Zaman be elected to hold office as Mayor of the London Borough of Tower Hamlets until 21<sup>st</sup> October 2010 and then, following the change on that date to a directly elected mayoral system, as Chair of Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council on 18<sup>th</sup> May 2011.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

#### 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

#### **DECISION**

That Councillor Anna Lynch be elected to hold office as Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Tower Hamlets until 21<sup>st</sup> October 2010 and then, following the change on that date to a directly elected mayoral system, as Deputy Chair of Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council on 18<sup>th</sup> May 2011.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

### 3. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Carli Harper-Penman and Rania Khan.

#### **DECISION**

That the apologies be noted.

#### 4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

#### 5. MINUTES

#### **DECISION**

That the minutes of the ordinary meeting of the Council held on 24<sup>th</sup> March 2010 be confirmed as a correct record of the proceedings and the Mayor be authorised to sign them accordingly.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

## 6. TO RECEIVE ANNOUNCEMENTS (IF ANY) FROM THE MAYOR OR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

No announcements were made.

## 7. ELECTION OF LEADER

### **DECISION**

That Councillor Helal Abbas be elected to serve as Leader of the Council until 21<sup>st</sup> October 2010, when the new directly elected mayoral system will be introduced.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

#### 8. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER AND CABINET MEMBERS

## **DECISION**

That the Council notes the appointment, by the Leader of the Council, of the Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members to serve until 21<sup>st</sup> October 2010 or until otherwise notified by the Leader, whichever is the sooner, as follows:-

Councillor Joshua Peck - Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor Shahed Ali – Lead Member, Environment

Councillor David Edgar – Lead Member, Resources

Councillor Marc Francis – Lead Member, Housing, Heritage and Planning

Councillor Sirajul Islam – Lead Member, Regeneration and Employment

Councillor Denise Jones – Lead Member, Culture and Creative Industries

Councillor Shiria Khatun – Lead Member, Children's Services

Councillor Rachael Saunders - Lead Member, Health & Wellbeing

Councillor Abdal Ullah – Lead Member, Community Safety

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

# 9. COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP, REVIEW OF PROPORTIONALITY AND ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

#### **DECISION**

- 1. That the Council notes the membership of the Authority following the Council Elections held on 6<sup>th</sup> May 2010 and the review of proportionality as set out at section 3 of the interleaved report of the Service Head, Democratic Services.
- 2. That the Committees and Panels of the Council be established for the Municipal Year 2010/11 and the allocation of places to groups be agreed as set out in the table below:-

Committees/panels covered by the requirement for proportionality:

Committee/panel	Total	Labour	Conserv -ative	Liberal Democrat	Respect
Overview & Scrutiny Committee	9	6	1	1	1
(plus 5 co-optees)					
Health Scrutiny Panel	7	6	1	-	-
Appeals Committee	7	6	1	-	-
Audit Committee	7	5	1	1	-
Development	7	6	1	-	-
Committee					
Strategic Development	7	6	1	-	-
Committee					
General Purposes	7	6	1	-	-
Committee					
Human Resources	7	6	1	-	-
Committee					
Licensing Committee	15	11	3	-	1
Pensions Committee	7	6	1	-	-

Committee not covered by the requirement for proportionality:

Committee	Total	Labour	Conserv -ative	Liberal Democrat	Respect
Standards Committee (plus 9 independent members)	5	3	2	1	-

3. That Part 3 of the Council's Constitution be amended as necessary to reflect the changes agreed to the membership of the committees and panels.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

#### 10. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND PANELS OF THE COUNCIL

#### **DECISION**

- 1. That Members and Deputy Members be appointed to the Committees and Panels of the Council for the Municipal Year 2010/11 as set out in the tabled schedule appended to the minutes.
- 2. That Councillor Mizanur Rahman Chaudhury be appointed as the Olympics Ambassador.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

#### 11. PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS 2010/11

#### **DECISION**

- 1. That an additional Council meeting be held on Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> October 2010, following the election of the Executive Mayor which will be in advance of the first Cabinet meeting to be held under the Mayoral system.
- 2. That subject to (1) above, the revised programme of meetings for 2010/11 be agreed; and
- 3. That an urgent meeting of the Constitutional Working Party be held to make appropriate amendments to the Constitution to be approved on 27th October 2010.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

## 12. APPOINTMENT OF POLITICAL ADVISORS

### **DECISION**

- 1. That the posts of Political Assistants (known as Political Advisors) to the Labour Group and the Conservative Group be re-established for the duration of the current administration in accordance with Section 9 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- 2. That the Political Advisor posts be re-established as previously on the basis of a full-time post to support the Labour Group and a half-time post to support the Conservative Group.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

## 13. APPOINTMENTS TO LONDON COUNCILS COMMITTEES AND FORUMS

## **DECISION**

That the Council agree to the appointment of Members and Deputy Members to the London Councils committees and forums as listed in the tabled schedule appended to the minutes, subject to the amendment of the Deputy nomination to the Culture, Tourism and 2012 Forum from Councillor Amy Whitelock to Councillor Mizanur Rahman Chaudhury.

(Action by: John S. Williams, Service Head, Democratic Services)

The meeting ended at 8.23 p.m.